Superfood Breakfast: Acai Bowl

Acai Bowl 2

After yoga this weekend I was craving something refreshing, something that would energize and provide substance without putting me into a food coma, so obviously not the tasty pumpkin waffles from last weekend 😀

A few years ago I tried this delicious superfood from Hightide Butrrito Co. after a yoga detox session at Power Yoga San Marco South in Jacksonville. It was amazing, but I haven’t had it since then, until this weekend! And I didn’t stop there, I’ve been having it each morning before work to give this non-coffee drinker a boost of energy!

Over the weekend I decided to pick up the ingredients for this cereal-like smoothie and make it myself. The only thing I realized after setting out to create this at home was that Publix doesn’t carry the Acai (pronounced ah-sah-EE) puree required to make the smoothie-like base. Dead set on enjoying a refreshing acai bowl, I came up with a substitute for the puree.

Acai Bowl 4

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of Sambazon Acai Original Superfood juice
  • 1/2 cup of ice
  • 1/3 cup of coconut milk
  • 2 bananas
  • 1/2 cup of strawberries
  • 1/2 cup of granola
  • 1 tablespoon of honey or to taste

Directions

  1. In a blender, mix together the Acai original juice, ice, coconut milk, 1 banana and 1/4 cup of the strawberries
  2. Pour the smoothie contents from the blender into a bowl as the base
  3. Slice the remaining bananas and strawberries
  4. Place the fruit and granola on top of the acai smoothie contents in the bowl and finish off with honey

Since I was winging the puree portion, trying to make the liquid juice thinker to create a similar smoothie substance I added extra strawberries and bananas to the blender. I also ended up making way more than I needed, so I saved the rest of the mixture in small little containers and put them in the freezer, like ice cubes. This helped tremendously the next day – I took the frozen mixture and added in the extra fruit and coconut milk to prep my morning breakfast.

Have you tried this super healthy and super tasty breakfast?

Sianne Signature

JOIN THE CONVERSATION

